Financing of vaccination campaigns

Panel discussions

Sponsorships for orphans

Support for the educational system

Support for emergency hospitals in Syria

Kindergarten for war orphans

Reconstruction of school buildings

Support for war widows and orphans

A van sent to Syria, 2013

School children express their gratitude

Who we are and what we do

The association Tübinger Syrienhilfe clearly and explicitly dissociates itself from Islamism and condemns any kind of Islamist terrorism in the strongest terms.

 

Our Identity

The association Tübinger Syrienhilfe e.V. [Tuebingen Syria Relief, registered association (i.e., officially recognized as a non-profit organization; see below)] is an association for humanitarian aid which is politically and religiously neutral. We are officially recognized as a charitable organization. The association Tübinger Syrienhilfe e.V. was founded by Tübingen based university students and people working in a variety of different professions.

Our Members

Our association includes members who are teachers, university students, doctors, university teachers, lawyers, and judges.

All members of the association and of its council work on a volunteer basis.

Humanitarian Aid in Syria

Until the spring of 2015, our activities were focussed on the city of Al Mayadin in Eastern Syria. As a result of the city’s occupation by the terrorist group IS we cannot provide help to Al Mayadin anymore. In the face of the lamentable misery caused by the war, we decided to continue our activities in Syria. We now support the inhabitants of Erbin, a city located in the suburbs of Damascus which counts some 45,000 inhabitants and has been under siege by Assad troops ever since 2012. The city has a civil self-government and is neither controlled by the Assad regime nor by IS militia.
Until August, 2016, we also supported the inhabitants of Darayya. The city is equally located in the suburbs of Damascus and counts some 8,000 inhabitants. By the end of August 2016, the regime in Damascus regained control of the city, and we were forced to discontinue our help on location in Darayya.

Our Activities

As it has been impossible to deliver humanitarian goods to this region since 2013, we collect financial contributions in Europe that we transfer to a humanitarian committee on location. In the same way as with the city of Al Mayadin, all of our contributions for Erbin are exclusively dedicated to social, educational, and medical projects (see “Achievements” and “Projects”). We would like to assure all sponsors and supporters that all of our contributions reach those who are in need of them. No contribution will be used for any military objectives.

As of now, it is impossible to deliver humanitarian goods to the heartland of Syria. Therefore we do not accept any in-kind contributions at the moment. Your financial contributions will help the local committees to purchase necessary humanitarian goods on location.

Our Local Partners

Until the spring of 2015, the association Tübinger Syrienhilfe e.V. cooperated with the Local Coordination Committee for Social Assistance and Education, a humanitarian committee in Al Mayadin. Consisting of doctors, of other specialists from various professions, and of supporters, this committee had taken up its activities in March, 2011, and had continuously run humanitarian projects on location until 2015. Its mission was to provide humanitarian emergency aid to the inhabitants of Al Mayadin and of some 60 villages in the surroundings. They took care of half a million people in total, as by the beginning of the war countless internally displaced persons (IDPs) had fled to Al Mayadin.
The main tasks of the humanitarian committee in Al Mayadin included medical aid and the supply of staple food (flour, rice, and baby food in particular) as well as the reconstruction of destroyed infrastructure (hospitals, school buildings, drinking water and sanitary facilities), the support for the educational system, and shielding people from the cold in winter.
Starting in the end of 2015, we have continued our humanitarian aid in Erbin, a city located in the suburbs of Damascus. In order to provide help to people in Erbin, we cooperate with the Local Coordination Committee of the city which is comparable to the committee in Al Mayadin. In Darayya we cooperated with the Local Council, the members of which also supervised the humanitarian aid. We were forced to discontinue our cooperation in August, 2016.

Local Coordination Committees and Local Councils

Local Coordination Committees and Local Councils

In Syria, we exclusively cooperate with Local Councils and Local Coordination Committees, e.g., in Erbin, as well as in Al Mayadin (until the spring of 2015) and Darayya (until August 2016). The Local Councils consist of several Local Coordination Committees. On their part, they represent citizen committees that take care of organizing daily life in Syrian cities. Their respective structure may slightly vary from one city to another. Some places are administered by several committees, each of them having a specific area of responsibility, e.g., food supply, medical aid, waste disposal and sanitary affairs, or social and educational issues. Other places are organized by only one Local Coordination Committee whose members are in charge of all of the various areas of responsibility.

All members of the Local Coordination Committees work on a volunteer basis.
The members of the Local Councils and Local Coordination Committees strive for the development of a secular democracy in Syria. They reject and condemn militarism and any kind of terrorism.

Please find a complete list of the projects that we support under “Projects”. You will also find a description of completed projects under “Achievements”.

Al-Mayadin

Darayya

Erbin

Wer wir sind und was wir machen


Der Verein Tübinger Syrienhilfe distanziert sich ausdrücklich vom Islamismus und verurteilt jede Form von islamistischem Terror aufs Schärfste.



Am 25.08.2016 haben die Truppen des Assad-Regimes Darayya erorbert. Unter Aufsicht der Vereinten Nationen wurde die Bevölkerung, einschließlich unserer Kontaktpersonen, evakuiert. Durch die neue Situation müssen auch wir unsere Hilfe vor Ort neu orientierten. Über alle Entwicklungen halten wir Sie auf dem Laufenden.


Unsere Identität

Die Tübinger Syrienhilfe e.V. ist eine politisch und religiös neutrale Hilfsorganisation. Wir sind anerkannt als ein gemeinnütziger Verein. Gegründet wurde die Tübinger Syrienhilfe e.V. durch eine Initiative Tübinger Studenten und Berufstätiger.

Unsere Mitglieder

Zu den Mitgliedern des Vereins gehören u.a. Lehrer, Studenten, Ärzte, Dozenten an Universitäten, Rechtsanwälte und Richter.

Alle Vorstände und Mitglieder des Vereins arbeiten ehrenamtlich.

Humanitäre Hilfe in Syrien

Unsere Arbeit hat sich bis Frühjahr 2015 auf die Stadt Al Mayadin im Osten Syriens fokussiert. Wegen der Besatzung durch die Terrorgruppe IS können wir dort jedoch keine Hilfe mehr leisten. Auf Grund des Krieges und der entsetzlichen Leiden, denen die Zivilbevölkerung ausgesetzt ist, können und wollen wir unsere Hilfe in Syrien nicht einstellen. Wir haben daher beschlossen die Bewohner von Erbin und Darayya zu unterstützen. Beide Ortschaften liegen in der Peripherie von Damaskus und werden seit 2012 von den Truppen der Assad-Diktatur belagert. Erbin zählt ca. 45000 und Darayya ca. 8000 Einwohner. Diese Städte werden weder vom Assad-Regime noch von den Milizen des IS kontrolliert. Sie leben in ziviler Selbstverwaltung.

Unsere Arbeitsweise

Da es seit Ende 2013 nicht mehr möglich ist, Hilfstransporte in diese Region durchzuführen, sammeln wir in Europa Geldspenden, die wir an ein lokales Hilfskomitee vor Ort überweisen. Wie schon in Al Mayadin wird unsere Hilfe auch in Erbin und Darayya ausschließlich für soziale, schulische und medizinische Projekte eingesetzt (siehe "Geleistete Arbeit" und "Projekte"). Wir versichern allen Spendern und Unterstützern, dass die Spenden bei den Bedürftigen ankommen. Es werden keine Spendengelder unterschlagen oder für militärische Zwecke verwendet.

Momentan ist es unmöglich, Hilfstransporte in das Landesinnere von Syrien zu bringen. Aus diesem Grund sammeln wir zur Zeit keine Sachspenden mehr, sondern nur noch Geldspenden. Mit diesem Geld werden vor Ort die benötigten Hilfsgüter besorgt. 

Unsere Partner vor Ort

Bis Frühjahr 2015 hat die Tübinger Syrienhilfe mit einem Hilfskomitee in Al Mayadin zusammengearbeitet, das Lokale Koordinationskomitee für Soziales und Schulwesen. Dieses war seit März 2011 aktiv und hat bis 2015 kontinuierliche Arbeit vor Ort geleistet. Das Hilfskomitee bestand aus Ärzten, weiteren Fachleuten und mehreren Helfern (siehe "Projekte"). Sein Anliegen war es, den Bewohnern der Stadt und von ca. 60 Dörfern in der Umgebung humanitäre Nothilfe zu leisten. Dabei handelte es sich um über eine halbe Million Menschen, da sich – zu Beginn des Krieges – neben den ursprünglichen Bewohnern unzählige Binnenflüchtlinge in Al Mayadin niedergelassen hatten. Die Hauptarbeit des Hilfskomitees bestand in der medizinischen Betreuung und der Versorgung mit Grundnahrungsmitteln (vor allem Mehl, Reis und Kindernahrung), dem Wiederaufbau zerstörter Infrastruktur (Krankenhäuser, Schulgebäude, Trinkwasser- und Sanitätsanlagen…), der Unterstützung des Schulwesens sowie dem Schutz der Menschen vor Kälte.
Seit Ende 2015 setzen wir – aus den oben genannten Gründen – unsere humanitäre Hilfe in Erbin und Darayya bei Damaskus fort. Um die Bevölkerung von Erbin zu unterstützen, stehen wir in dieser Stadt mit dem dortigen Lokalen Koordinationskomitee in Verbindung. Es ist ähnlich organisiert, wie dasjenige von Al Mayadin. In Darayya arbeiten wir mit dem Local Council (Stadtrat) zusammen, deren Mitglieder auch die Hilfsaktionen leiten.

Lokale Koordinationskomitees und Local Councils

In Syrien, so auch in Erbin und Darayya (und bis Frühjahr 2015 auch in Al Mayadin), arbeiten wir ausschliesslich mit den Local Councils (Stadträte) und Lokalen Koordinationskomitees zusammen. Den Local Councils gehören verschiedene Lokale Koordinationskomitees an. Dabei handelt es sich um Bürgerkomitees, die den Alltag in den Städten verwalten. Je nach Ortschaft sind die Lokalen Koordinationskomitees ein wenig anders organisiert. In manchen Städten gibt es mehrere Komitees, wobei jedes für einen bestimmten Fachbereich zuständig ist; z.B. eins für Lebensmittelversorgung, das andere für medizinische Versorgung, das dritte für Müllabfuhr und Hygiene, das vierte für Soziales (Kriegswaise, Kriegsflüchtlinge…) und Schulwesen. In anderen Städten wiederum gibt es nur ein Lokales Koordinationskomitee, in dem die unterschiedlichen Fachbereiche auf bestimmte Mitglieder verteilt sind.

Diagramm Local Council
Alle Mitglieder der Lokalen Koordinationskomitees arbeiten ehrenamtlich.
Die Mitglieder der Local Councils und Lokalen Koordinationskomitees streben die Errichtung einer laizistischen Demokratie in Syrien an. Sie verwerfen und verurteilen den Militarismus und jegliche Form von Terror.

Informationen und Bilder zu den bereits umgesetzten Hilfen bzw. längerfristigen Projektperspektiven finden Sie unter "Projekte" oder "Geleistete Arbeit".